Sound

I need you in the way the second key from the top needs my left index finger, the fourth key needs my middle finger, the fifth key needs my ring finger, the lever key needs my little finger, and the long flat key needs my thumb to rest on the back.

I need you in the way the last three keys need the index, the middle and the ring finger of my right hand to be placed just before the foot joint and the little finger to rest just after.

I need you in the way the embouchure needs to be held against the edge of my bottom lip and tightly drawn together, as I blow air gently downwards and across in a steady stream as it rises like a river through my throat from deep within my lungs.

I need you in the way the tip of my tongue needs to find the back of the roots of my top front teeth to strike them for a moment, before coming to rest behind my lower teeth at the bottom of my mouth.

I need you in the way, my flute needs me. To play the smoothest, the richest of sounds.

Leave a Reply

